•  

     

    Special Education & Auxiliary Support Services Department

     
    Department Phone Number (805) 742-3301
     
     
    Cynthia Ravalin
    Director, Special Education & Auxiliary Support Services Department
    ravalin.cynthia@lusd.org 
     
    Jamie Johnson
    Coordinator, Special Education
    johnson.jamie@lusd.org 
     
    Tisha Quam
    Coordinator, Special Education
    quam.tisha@lusd.org
     
    Kayla Heinlein
    Program Specialist
    heinlein.kayla@lusd.org
     
    Chantal Martinez
    Program Specialist
    martinez.chantal@lusd.org
     
    Karen Deming
    Administrative Assistant III
    deming.karen@lusd.org   
     

    Our Program 

     

    Special education is instruction specifically designed to address the educational and related developmental needs of children with disabilities.
    This includes early intervention services for infants and toddlers, pre-school for students starting at age three, services for school age children in grades K-12, and transition services for eligible students up to age 22.

    For students with Individual Education Plans, instruction is based on the core curriculum. The IEP team documents modifications and/or accommodations/ adaptations, teaching strategies, as well as other support systems that may help the student.


    Educación Especial es enseñanza especificamente diseñada para atender las necesidades educativas y las relacionadas al desarrollo de los niños discapacitados.

    Esta incluye servicios de intervención temprana para bebés y niños pequeños, para estudiantes en preescolar a partir de los tres años de edad, servicios para niños en edad escolar desde kinder hasta el 12º grado y servicios de transición para estudiantes elegibles hasta los 22 años de edad.

    Para estudiantes con un Plan Educativo Individual, la enseñanza se basa en el plan de estudios básico. El equipo del Plan Educativo Individual documenta modificaciones y/o adaptaciones, estrategias de enseñanza, así como otros sistemas de apoyo que puedan ayudar al estudiante.